Disability service providers set for super merger

Posted 6 years ago by Andrew Lodiong

Three leading disability service providers in Australia have announced they will join together to increase their impact in the lives of people with a disability.

House with No Steps (HWNS), The Tipping Foundation (TTF) and Victorian Person Centred Services Inc (VISTA) are set for a merger early next year.

HWNS’ current Chief Executive Officer Andrew Richardson, who was appointed CEO of the new combined organisation, says the pending merger is a great step forward for everyone.

“I am honoured to have been chosen to lead the merged organisation,” he says.

“We will continue to focus exclusively on serving and supporting people with a disability and upholding their human rights.”

HWNS works to provide greater choice, control, and freedom for people with a disability and currently operate in four states and one territory.

Graeme Kelly, the current CEO of TTF and VISTA, will be a senior executive and play a pivotal role in bringing the disability service providers together and developing a new strategy for the organisations.

“The NDIS is creating exciting opportunities for disability service providers to meet the needs of people with a disability in new and better ways,” Mr Kelly says.

“There are many synergies (in each organisation) – we have shared values, we provide a broad range of services and we both have a commitment to empowering people with a disability.”

TTF and VISTA are both well regarded organisations who work to provide much needed services to people with a disability and vulnerable young people.

The three service providers will continue to operate under their existing brand names, and customers will be supported by the same staff in the same services.

“With each day, we will work in partnership with our customers and staff to further improve and refine our services as we strive to help more people with a disability live a great life,” Mr Richardson says.

The merger is expected to take effect from 1 March 2018, after member approval.